January 17, 2009

  • Transition and Adaptation

    I returned to my beloved forest sanctuary home from my extended holiday journey 3 days ago, and am still getting accustomed to being here without my dog May.  She has been such an important part of my life, and such a wonderful companion in this remote setting.  It has felt empty and hollow here in some ways without May by my side, both within the cabin and out along the trail, yet on some level I sense her spirit’s presence.  At times I feel like she is still with me yet also in a very peaceful place beyond the physical realm.  But I still miss being able to wrap my arms around her and cuddle up together.  I am very grateful for my cat Abie, as he loves to cuddle and be held and tending to him in those ways brings me as much or more comfort as he gets.  I had a good cry tonight grieving May which felt cleansing, and I continue to be grateful for the time I did get to share with her here. 

Comments (4)

  • i’m so sorry for your loss, i really am. and i think that feeling of her being with you is as true as true can be. lost my ella (18-yr. cat) in april, and i know how heavy your heart must be at times. they are still with us, forever i believe.

    i’m glad you have a cat that loves to cuddle, they are sometimes hard to come by. : )

  • I’m sorry to hear you lost your beloved friend, Cath.  Animals are such a special part of life.  ((big hug for you))

  • I had to have my dog put down (but due to old age). I still miss him. The adjustment takes some time. Longer in your case I think since you two were together in a more remote situation.

  • *hugs*. My beloved Boomer is 17 years old for a cat. He can’t jump or go down steps anymore.

    I have lost so much in the last month or so, I can’t bear to loose him.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *